OW2 Programming Contest 2010

OW2 Programming Contest 2010

Award Ceremony: September 24-26, 2010
Ningxia University, Yinchuan city, Ningxia, China

Latest news

Contestant registration deadline is extended to 30 June 2010.

April 18, 2010: (closed) Deadline for projects to submit topics to the contest (see the Topics page for proposed topics).

April 8, 2010: contestant registration is now open.

March 2010: Launch of the 2010 Programming Contest

Checkout the results.


Once again in 2010, OW2 and Scilab are organizing a joint open source programming contest.

This year, as a unique complement to the programming contest, a corporate networking event is organized for sponsors and their guests with the theme: Open Source, Open for Business.

The Contest ceremony will be held in September 24-26 2010 in Ningxia University, Yinchuan city, Ningxia, China.


Competition Purposes

The purpose of the competition is to develop awareness for the OW2 code base among students and technicians, and to provide an opportunity for contestants to demonstrate their talent in computer programming. What's more, the contest aims at promoting teamwork and the ability of college students in science and technology to study and use OW2 open source projects. Based on principles of "freedom, sharing and creativity", and aiming at improving international communication and cooperation, the competition is overseen by IT professionals and academics from Europe and China.

Rules of Contest


Academic staff and students of university and research institute, engineers of industrial and business organizations, and all other professionals.


Participants should select a topic among the list of topics provided for the OW2 contest (under construction). Once they have selected a topic, they should go to the Registration page for registration instructions.

Technical requirements

  1. Participants can select a topic in the list provided on the OW2 Contest webpage.
  2. After registration, participants are encouraged to get in touch with the topic contact, and exchange information on the corresponding project mailing list.
  3. The software will be developed using the Trustie collaborative infrastructure. It should include appropriate documentation for installing and running the software, as well as examples and tests. The language for code comments and documentation should be English.

Award Selection

The Award Selection process includes three stages:

  1. Shortlist of entries by an Expert Team.
  2. Peer-evaluation on the Internet, and.
  3. Final selection by French and Chinese Scientists.
In the first stage, 16 works will be shortlisted from all the received submissions. Peer-evaluation on the Internet will be made by all contestants. Finally, the French and Chinese Scientist Team will decide on the awards to be given, taking into consideration the results of the first and second stages.


  1. First prize: one award will be given (RMB 10 000).
  2. Second prize: up to FIVE awards will be given. (Each Award: RMB 2 000).
  3. Third prize: up to TEN awards will be given. (Each Award: RMB 500).

Programme committee

Florent Benoit: Bull
Olivier Beyler: Orange Labs
Gaël Blondelle: TC Chairman
Stephan Brunessaux: EADS
Cédric Carbone: Talend
Denis Caromel: INRIA
Jacques Cayuela: Bull
Sébastien Chassande-Barrioz: RaisePartner
Charly Clairmon: Altic
Pascal Dechamboux: Orange
Philippe Delrieux: Ubikis
Bruno Dillenseger: Orange Labs
Didier Donsez: IMAG
Christophe Dousson: Orange Labs
Pierre Dubois: Requea
Marc Dutoo: OpenWide
Clément Escoffier: akquinet
François Exertier: Bull
Andre Freyssinet: ScalAgent DT
Guillaume Gens
Pierre-Yves Gibello: Petals Link
Patrick Giroux: EADS
Andrea Gioia: Engineering
Tugdual Grall: eXo
Christophe Gravier: Institut Télécom
Laurent Guérin: Sogeti
Michaël Hirt: Talend
Jeremi Joslin: eXo
Han Jun: BUAA
Michael Kleinhenz: Tarent
Laurent Laudinet: Thales
Goulven Le Jeune: Bull
Matthieu Leclercq: ST Microelectronics
Alexandre Lefebvre: CTO
Jning Liu: CVIC
Adrien Louis: Petals Link
Stefano Maffuli: Funambol
Antonio Majori: Engineering
Julie Marguerite: Thales
Rafael Marins: Neociclo
Pascal Marquat: Ubikis
Vincent Massol: xWiki
Antoine Mensch: Odonata
Philippe Merle: INRIA
Mike Moody: Jaspersoft
Patrick Moreau: INRIA
Christophe Ney: Wanager
Benoît Pelletier: Bull
Emmanuel Rias: Bull
Stephane Ribas: INRIA
Américo Sampaio: Unifor
Guillaume Sauthier: Bull
Stefano Scamuzzo: Engineering
Lionel Seinturier: INRIA
Dianxi Shi: NUDT
Ye Shiyang: ISCAS
Charles Souillard: BonitaSoft
Jean-Bernard Stefani: INRIA
Hailong Sun: BUAA
Petr Tuma: Charles University
Miguel Valdes: BonitaSoft
Julien Viet: eXo
Wei Wang: ISCAS
Gang Yin: NUDT
Yongwang Zhao: BUAA
Bin Zhou: NUDT
Minghui Zhou: PKU


  • (extended) Deadline for topics submission: April 18, 2010
  • Deadline of registration: June 15, 2010 - extended to June 30, 2010.
  • Deadline for code submission: August 25, 2010
  • Award conference at Ningxia University: September 24-26, 2010